Netduino Plus with RelayShield as networked light switches

Picked up a fun relay shield from the seeedstudio people. My goal was to be able to control lights over the network. After grabbing some webserver code from this post, I was able to get a simple basic web server and light controller up in no time. One stumbling block I had was the MAC configuration with MFDeploy. If you don’t use the proper MAC that was assigned to the Ethernet controller you could have potential DHCP or router ARP table issues. When setting up the netduino network I was lazy and put in a bogus MAC, that caused a few hours of debugging. Once deployed and networking is configured hit the root address from the network and a simple page with links get displayed

Quick photo and diagram of the setup





Pick up the code hack around and have fun. Suggestions and comments welcome.

About financecoding
I enjoy coding in dart.

12 Responses to Netduino Plus with RelayShield as networked light switches

  1. Wagner Oedis says:

    Excellent, great job, I tried here at home and it worked perfectly

  2. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your content seem to be running off the screen in Firefox.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post
    to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you
    get the issue fixed soon. Thanks

  3. Frank Krazer says:

    I cannot get the relays to change state, no continuity between COM 1 and NO1. I have the 9V barrel jack connected and pin D7 is on. I can touch the Seeed board with my meter and see ~3V on D0. Netduino is only running on USB. Nothing else connected at the moment. What am I missing?

    • It’s been a long time since I’ve used this device, sorry I wont be able to help much on it. My only guess is you might not have the rely powered.

      • Frank Krazer says:

        Thanks, I agree, I just can’t seem to figure out the missing link. In your photo, you have an additional connector on the 5V circuit to the breadboard. Is this a 5V output or input? The specs say that the relay needs 5V, but I can’t understand if that is sourced from the 9V or the GPIO. If it is the GPIO then it is only putting out 3.3 V. But that should be the same for your application since it is the same netduino.

      • You do need to source the relay board, the voltage to switch the relay does not come from the netdruino, the trigger to switch the relay does.

  4. Frank Krazer says:

    I am sourcing the board through the 9V barrel jack. I am guessing that this is not the right connection.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

